Libraries are for Use

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

First Anniversary – Paper


Yesterday was the first anniversary of both my new job and my new blog.  Looking back at my postings (starting on January 1, 2012), I wanted to see what the pattern of my interests were.  Here are two Wordles created from my blog entries (split about mid-year):
Wordle: Being and Librarianship, part 2
^Through June, 2012^

Wordle: Being and Librarianship
^July-December, 2012^

They are quite similar, with the two most used words being “libraries” and “ideas”.  Other common words include “circulation,” “resources,” “ebooks,” “books,” and “electronic.”  I’m a little chagrined at the frequency of “rather” and “however”.  Words that I expected to be more prominent were “value” and “collection”.  However, “metrics,” “model,” and “measure” are pretty big.

I also looked back on my ideas that I was wanting to pursue, notably my “Top Ten Questions” and “What to Study Next“.  Well, my eyes have always been bigger than my stomach, and I did not pursue a course of study in logic, epistemiology and professions.  I did, however, carefully read Ranganathan’s Five Laws of Library Science (see postings), from which I had gained much insight into the history of librarianship.  My top questions, however, I think are still valid and worth pursuing, particularly those related to measuring the quality of a collection, and what impact the collection has on student learning and faculty research.

Ideas I imagine I will be pursuing over this next year include:

  • Library Impact Data Project – they have a toolkit that I’d like to look into using
  • Assessment in Action (ACRL)
  • More thorough overlap analysis of A&I databases (for yet another round of budget cuts)
  • Evaluation of accessibility of our resources for those who are print disabled

I also tried making a timeline from my postings using TimelineJS.  This was not as easy as I had hoped…But I got something interesting:

When I started this blog, I wasn’t sure if it was something I could keep up.  I did not want to have a blog that laid fallow with rare postings.  Now that I know that I can write regularly, I need to decide if this is something that I want to continue doing.  And while I think it is perfectly valid to write for my own ear, my goal is to develop conversations and discussions.  While I want to contribute my voice, I would hope that others would want to listen.  So, I’m hoping to generate a little more interest in my work over the next year.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2013 by in Academic Libraries, Personal.
The Scholarly Kitchen

What’s Hot and Cooking In Scholarly Publishing

Libraries are for Use

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Scholarly Communication | Scoop.it

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Library & Information Science Research | Scoop.it

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Library Collections | Scoop.it

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Lib(rary) Performance

About library statistics & measurement - by Ray Lyons

Walt at Random

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

ULS Universe

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

The Scholarly Kitchen

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

The Quarterly Journal of Economics Current Issue

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Texas Library Association blogs

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Stephen's Lighthouse

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

ResourceShelf

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Reference Notes

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Politifact.com Truth-O-Meter rulings from National

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Open and Shut?

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

N S R

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Musings about librarianship - Aaron Tay

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

LISNews:

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

