Libraries are for Use

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Let me explain…


I feel I should explain my absence from this blog.  Well, it turns out that my hockey life has interfered with my librarian life.  Six weeks ago I fell in a collision on the ice.  While it was the hardest I’ve ever hit my head, I did not think anything wrong, even after the headaches started several days later.  An MRI revealed very tiny hematomas – bruises.  But it was the ER doctor who first used the “C” word – for concussion.  While the first neurosurgeon was “unimpressed” with my hematomas and said I could return to work (I think he heard me say that I was a “librarian” and instantly thought that all I did was read books), the second one cleared me for work only if I “severely limited my screen time”.  Hence, my absence from the “small screen” – the Web, not TV, of course.

am trying to keep up with the literature, and our library is focused on the article on journal prices in PNAS.  I hope to compose my reaction, in which I hope to include comparisons with our own expenditures.  I will try to include some “ScoopIt” items and other “quick postings”.  But I’m limiting myself to brief intervals on the PC.  Needless to say, it hasn’t been easy.

For instance, I read this really interesting post from…Ooops…Times up…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2014 by in Personal.
The Scholarly Kitchen

What’s Hot and Cooking In Scholarly Publishing

Libraries are for Use

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Scholarly Communication | Scoop.it

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Library & Information Science Research | Scoop.it

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Library Collections | Scoop.it

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Lib(rary) Performance

About library statistics & measurement - by Ray Lyons

Walt at Random

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

The Scholarly Kitchen

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

The Quarterly Journal of Economics Current Issue

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Texas Library Association blogs

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Stephen's Lighthouse

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

ResourceShelf

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Reference Notes

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Politifact.com Truth-O-Meter rulings from National

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Open and Shut?

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

N S R

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

Musings about librarianship

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

LISNews:

Demonstrating the value of librarianship

